Things I enjoyed in 2016

I really struggled to put this year-end roundup together this time around because I was really, very busy for much of the year. 2016 was a massive blur, and I can’t remember if I either consumed too much or not enough media hence the kind of shit list. But tradition is tradition, and if you’re willing to stick around for another year, 2017’s will be undoubtedly better.

Movies: SpotlightEx Machina, Dr. Strange

Oldies: Magnolia, American Psycho, The Deer Hunter, Shakespeare in Love

TV: Mr. Robot, The Leftovers, Atlanta, Marvel’s Luke Cage, Stranger Things

Albums: 

Honourable mention aka the album I forgot to include in my tweets: The Hamilton Mixtape

Singles (in no particular order): “Final Song” – MØ, “Love on the Brain” – Rihanna, “On Hold” – The xx, “Best to You” – Blood Orange, “Breathe Life” – Jack Garratt, “Cliff” – Lapsley, “Black and White” – Regina Spektor, “Friends” – Francis and the Lights feat. Bon Iver and Kanye West, “Dear Theodosia – Reprise” – Chance the Rapper, “Satsified” – Sia feat. Queen Latifah and Miguel, “One Dance” – Drake feat. Wizkid and Kyla, “Temporary Love” – The Brinks; “Boyfriend” – Tegan and Sara, “I Feel It Coming” – The Weeknd feat. Daft Punk, “Tilted” – Christine and the Queens, “Something For Nothing” – Rationale, “Bad Blood” – Nao, “Multi-Love” – Unknown Mortal Orchestra”

Great jams I listened to on repeat posthumously: “Space Oddity” – David Bowie, “Purple Rain” – Prince, “September” – Earth, Wind and Fire, “Careless Whisper” – George Michael

Gigs: Beyoncé @ Wembley Stadium,Chaos Planet (Bastille) @ Courtyard Theatre, Florence and the Machine + Kendrick Lamar + Jamie xx @ BST Hyde Park, Bastille @ The O2. Honourable mentions: The 1975 @ The Roundhouse, CHVRCHES @ Royal Albert Hall

Books: Ready Player One by Ernest ClineSalt by Nayyirah Waheed

Nights out: Lemonade by BLESS @ Birthdays, Breaking Bad-themed bar @ ABQ London

Places I randomly found myself in: Calais, France; Essex, England

Cities: London, New York, Taipei

Newly found appreciations: Hamilton, dogs

Articles I’m still thinking about:

Pieces I wrote:

Videos I made/took part in:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

